Well, we had a big kōrero in our murumuru matihiko (bubble group) about the Google Exam. The exam was harder than I expected because there were lots of questions seemed designed to trip me up, rather than actually find out what I can do… and I had to really think “well what does Google want me to say here?” . I guess I have been left with the overall feeling that my sites and my blog are a much better reflection of what I have learned and can do in the digital world, much more than that Google Educator badge! And because of this, our murumuru were discussing, well, could the External Recognition day be held earlier – say, in week 8 – so that our final day together can really be a celebration of our growth, rather than be tainted by failing or passing an assessment that perhaps doesn’t accurately or fully reflect the extent of the amazing learning we have acquired through the DFI.

If the exam WAS held on an earlier DFI day, it would also free up people’s head spaces for some of the learning NOT covered in the exam – e.g. all the DigiTech and coding stuff – it’s not part of the exam, so why not get the test out of the way, then in Week 9 we could dive into all this cool new learning once we are not feeling anxious about a test. He whakaaro pai, nei?

Dorothy Burt:

Dorothy talked about all sorts of opportunities to stay connected! E.g:

  • the Manaiaklani Alumni – remember we can be added using our personal address rather than school address – in case we change roles/schools etc – simply email Vicki! (done). (Dorothy promises we will not be spammed).
  • Lesson Bytes – if we make a cool lesson/ DLO etc, we can submit stuff to Manaiaklani to be shared – and bought from us (in the form of Prezzy Cards!)
  • Coaching opportunities for DFI: If a teacher applies, and release is required – Manaiakalani pays for the reliever.
  • Online Toolkits – We all have the skills to run one now! So, step up….?
  • Reading practice Intensive: I would be interested to hear whether this content is fit for Māori medium kaiako – it’s so hard to be shown amazing resources and be told “Oh, just translate it if you want it in te reo” …
  • Maths Intensive: Yeah, I am already signed up for this, lucky me. Signed up as a coach but I am committed to getting as much out of it as my colleague whom I am coaching!

Take-aways & Next Steps:

I have been trying to get my head around how I can manage blogging with 3 year levels and massive ability range, and have come up with a plan that my Tau 5 and 6 can begin blogging in Wāhanga 2, and plan that Tau 4 will use this time to work through Cybersmart skills with our amazing kaiāwhina, and possibly take care of our class blog so they are beginning to learn how to blog.

Reflection:

The skills and content I have learned through the DFI are so useful, every day. I am so much more confident in creating fit-for-purpose Google stuff. I feel that the skills I have learned will continue to decrease my workload and generally make things more streamlined and fun. As a school leader I feel I have gleaned really really useful tools and strategies for managing data and information. 

The bubble groups really helped with DFI learning – both of my bubbles were so supportive, and were safe spaces to practice, ask for help and make mistakes. I really liked this way of managing the larger group, and enabling us to form friendships and relationships.

I feel like there might be an un-addressed issue in the DFI – I would like the chance to hear the Manaiakalani team’s thoughts about the research and data around kids and screentime – sometimes I reflect that we are madly working on ways to use devices with students, and yet last week I was reading about research showing the detrimental effects of more than one hour screentime per day. Undoubtedly, the majority of students at my school would spend a minimum of an hour on screens once they get home… and I know that the DFI is encouraging us to use tech in the most efficient and elevated ways possible – but still, an hour spent doing a really cool coding session is still an hour of screen time…

Aside from this niggle, I have had such a great time on the DFI and feel very lucky that my school has given me the time to participate.

Thank you amazing DFI team – 

 Hinewā, Vicki, Dorothy, Kerry, Amie –  so much for such skilled and thoughtful course. I found all of you super easy to understand and to listen to (which is by no means a given in online meetings), and really appreciate the time you have clearly taken to organise your thoughts and content, resources and flow.  I think DFIs are an incredible opportunity and I strongly urge anyone who is given the chance to SEIZE it! 

 

 

If anyone is worried about spending 6 hours online once a week for 9 weeks – don’t be! The half-hour breaks are perfectly timed, and they really make the days bearable. Pro tip: WALK AWAY from your computer as soon as the breaks begin, do NOT be tempted to finish the final little… no. Go outside!

One thought on “DFI Day 9: External Recognition

  1. Kia ora Tiff
    Thanks you for your very interesting blog posts and the insighful reflections you have shared over the nine weeks. It is so helpful to hear what is resonating with our expert educators and where you see we are giving value and could add value.
    The whole team has appreciated your input and I do hope to catch up with you in person during the coming months when I visit the West Coast.

    Dorothy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *