Our day began with THREE quick awesome tips – thanks Vicki!

  1. A new feature in Google Meet for the presenter to share their current screen via Chat – with one click – (at bottom right if you are presenting)
  2. The options to use pen that come up when presenting a slide deck; and
  3. Zoom tool when viewing a google meet presentation.

Dorothy Burt: Empowerment

Dorothy talked to us about how hard it is to be empowered when you are struggling to access the basics… and about the decile ranking system. It felt odd to me to be hearing about this stuff without discussing it in the context of privilege, racism, and of our history (in education and beyond) that has lead to and perpetuates this situation. I guess I agree that having equitable access to devices is one small part of addressing this, but I hate to think that we are assuming “Oh, my kids have Chromebooks, we now have equity in our school & community”.

I felt like Dorothy was perhaps preaching to the converted with the information about conversations, lack of oracy in young people – definitely all the teachers at my school are highly aware of this and are working every day to address it – but perhaps for some of our group, this was new.

EDOS programme – yes our school is aware. Maybe we need to put out the information again, if it’s ending for new participants in July.

Deep Dive: Future of Tech with Vicky and Kerry

  • Teach kids to ask questions!!!
  • See next steps
  • Kerry – Algorithm Charter for NZ! “We’re at the starting blocks of a very exciting, dynamic time”

Chalk n Talk: Generative AI with Vicki

This was so useful, it’s helped me feel more positive towards AI and more interested in the possibilities. I love this quote from Vicki: (regarding AI)

“It’s like having a super creative robot friend”.

AI helpers to check out: ReadAI for taking (and analysing) meeting notes, MagicSchool, … see slideshow for more!

Chalk n Talk: Computational Thinking and Hangarau Matihiko

Kerri has an awesome resource –  unpacking the jargon of the Digi tech curric into learner objectives. Very useful.

Create: Coding!

  • Vicki’s Pick – Toxic code! (Cool, note it requires a fair bit of reo pākeha)
  • I looked at: Stepping it Up: 
    • Basics of coding with Minecraft – really like the step-by step at own pace learning. It’s really clear. Downsides: too much reo pākeha for some of my tauira. I know there is reo māori Mincraft so, just have to do some more digging to see if there’s an equivalent-ish intro type thing…
    • CS First – wouldn’t let me sign in, gotta ask my admin (be aware of this if using with tauira)
    • Khan Academy – less reo pākeha, and pretty cool!
    • I love the Raranga Matihiko site – so many great ideas and so much reo māori – mīharo! The Sculpt GL tool – oh my!

Explore: Programming – Dance Party with Hinewā!

It takes longer than you think! But really fun. Dance party seems a great place to start with Coding. I can see the tauira will need a lot of time to play and explore before they would be ready to create something specific! Great way to teach about counts in music. I made an Encanto dance party – this link might not work for one week, after that it ought to….

Take-aways & Next Steps:

  • Check out the 10 breakthrough technologies of 2024 – could be cool to explore with tamariki?- Plus breakthrough NZ technologies. 
  • Check out and share RocketLab resources!
  • Do another email-out about EDOS
  • Go have more of a look at the Raranga Matihiko site, maybe see if  my colleague or I could find time to do the Sculpt GL lessons.
  • explore the Kahn Academy coding lessons with class – intro to JavaScript
  • I think I also need to have a wee look at Hello Ruby – looks very fun.

2 thoughts on “DFI Day 8: Computational Thinking

  1. Tēnā i karawhiua!
    He reo tōtika te kaupapa o te rā whaea Tiff.
    He hinengaro koi rawa tau. I mau kaha rawa te ngako, te matauranga tuku iho o te kōrero i kōtuitui ai, ahakoa ko wai te kaikōrero.
    I whakawhiti kōrero a mirumiru hei whai tō maramatanga e pā ana ki te tikanga o te wā.
    Nāreira, he kairaranga reo tau.
    Ngā manaakitanga o ngā mihi
    Whetū

  2. Kia ora whaea Tiff,

    Kua wehe koe i tō tātou rangi tuawaru me tētahi rarangi mahi roa – te tohu o te kaiako tēnei! I could see and hear your understandings as you shared your whakaaro and prompted conversations and topics to move in certain ways, its always greatly appreciated to have that kind of voice in a bubble group.

    Its really good to see your feedback around some of the kōrero that Dorothy shared, its always a point of interest for us to see what resonates and whats new for people.

    Kia pai te toenga o te wiki whaea,
    Hei tērā wiki 🙂
    Nā Hinewa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *